SOUTH WAIRARAPA DISTRICT COUNCIL

19 OCTOBER 2016

AGENDA ITEM E1

MAORI STANDING COMMITTEE NOMINATIONS FOR RATIFICATION

Purpose of Report

To ratify the membership of Council's Maori Standing Committee (MSC).

Recommendations

Officers recommend that the Council:

- 1. Receive the information.
- 2. Ratify the nominations for the Maori Standing Committee for the 2016-2019 triennium.

1. Discussion

As per Council policy MSC membership comprises:

- Representatives from Kohunui Marae (2), Papawai Marae (2), Hau Ariki Marae (2)
- Representatives from Rangitaane o Wairarapa (1) and Kahungunu ki Wairarapa (1)
- Councillors (2)

Individual Marae and Iwi nominate their representatives and then Council must pass a resolution ratifying the nominations.

A letter was sent to Iwi and marae on the 27 September 2016 advising them that their current appointees would be reappointed to the Committee unless notification was received of a change by the 13 October 2016. As no new nominations have been received at the time of writing, Council are now asked to ratify the following members to the Committee. Nominees can be ratified by Council anytime throughout the year by way of Council resolution.

- Kohunui Marae Terry Te Maari and vacant
- Papawai Marae Michael Roera and Amiria Te Whaiti
- Hau Ariki Marae Reuben Tipoki and Johnny Shaw

- Rangitaane o Wairarapa Horipo Rimene
- Ngati Kahungunu ki Wairarapa Demetrius Potangaroa

1.1 Election of Chairperson

The Committee will be asked to elect a chairperson and deputy chairperson at their first meeting of the triennium in accordance with Council policy.

Contact Officer: Suzanne Clark, Committee Secretary Reviewed By: Paul Crimp, Chief Executive