

SOUTH WAIRARAPA DISTRICT COUNCIL EXTRAORDINARY MEETING MINUTES

Representation Review Hearings and Deliberations

24 October 2018

Present: Mayor Viv Napier (Chair), Councillors Lee Carter, Pam Colenso, Margaret Craig, Pip

Maynard, Brian Jephson, Colin Olds, Colin Wright and Ross Vickery.

In Attendance: Paul Crimp (Chief Executive), Jenny Mitchell (Group Manager Corporate Support),

Mark Allingham (Group Manager Infrastructure and Services), Russell O'Leary (Group

Manager Planning and Environment) and Suzanne Clark (Committee Secretary).

Conduct of Business:

The meeting was held in the South Wairarapa District Council Chambers at 19 Kitchener Street, Martinborough and was conducted in public between 10:40am and

11:50am and from 12:47pm and 12:48pm.

Submitters: Robyn Ramsden, Claire Bleakley.

1 Apologies

COUNCIL RESOLVED (DC2018/160) to receive apologies from Cr Paora Ammunson and Reuben Tipoki.

(Moved Cr Craig/Seconded Cr Colenso)

Carried

2 Conflicts of Interest

Councillor Olds declared a conflict of interest as he had made a submission and did not participate in the meeting.

3 Submissions Hearings

The Mayor and councillors heard verbal submissions from Robyn Ramsden and Claire Bleakly.

4 Representation Review Report

The Group Manager Corporate Support discussed the Representation Review Report and process for making changes to the proposal with members. Members discussed options for boundary readjustments alongside the imminent release of census statistics by Statistics NZ, which would change the population per elected member ratio.

Cr Carter left the meeting at 10:50am.

Cr Carter returned to the meeting at 10:50am.

Cr Maynard left the meeting at 11:42am.

Cr Maynard returned to the meeting at 11: 43am.

COUNCIL RESOLVED (DC2018/161)

1. To receive the information.

(Moved Cr Jephson/Seconded Cr Maynard)

Carried

2. That the South Wairarapa District Council adopts its Final Proposal for the Representation Review for the local election to be held in 2019 and subsequent elections until altered by any subsequent decisions the following.

(Moved Cr Vickery/Seconded Cr Jephson)

Carried

- 3. To adopt the following:
 - a. That the Council comprise nine (9) councillors elected from three (3) wards, and the Mayor elected at large.
 - b. That the Council retain the existing ward names of Featherston, Greytown and Martinborough.
 - c. That there be three (3) community boards representing the communities of Featherston, Greytown and Martinborough.
 - d. That the membership of the Featherston, Greytown and Martinborough Community Boards be retained at four (4) members elected at large from the respective communities and two members appointed by the Council representing the respective wards.

(Moved Cr Vickery/Seconded Cr Craig)

Carried

4a. To agree to change boundaries in response to submissions.

(Moved Cr Jephson/Seconded Cr Colenso)

Carried

4b. To delegate to a working party of all members to decide and define the boundaries of the three wards.

(Moved Cr Wright/Seconded Cr Maynard)

Carried

5. That public notice is given of the Final Proposal as contained in this resolution. (Moved Cr Jephson/Seconded Cr Colenso) Carried

Council reopened the meeting at 12:47pm.

COUNCIL RESOLVED (DC2018/162)

6. To conduct another representation review in three years' time. (Moved Cr Wright/Seconded Cr Craig)

Carried

Council closed the meeting at 12:48pm.

Confirmed as a true and correct record
(Mayor)
(Date)