

# **Greytown Community Board First Meeting of the Triennium 2013-2016**

# Minutes 6 November 2013

**Present:** Christine Stevenson (chair from 7:05pm), Shane Atkinson, Leigh Hay and

Cr Margaret Craig.

**In Attendance:** Adrienne Staples (Mayor), Murray Buchanan (Group Manager Planning &

Environment) and Suzanne Clark (Committee Secretary).

**Conduct of** The meeting was conducted in public in the WBS Room, Greytown Town

**Business:** Centre on Wednesday 6 November 2013 between 7:00 and 7:30pm.

#### **PUBLIC BUSINESS**

# The Group Manager Planning & Environment in the Chair

A1. Apologies

Apologies were received from Cr Viv Napier, Connor Taumoepeau and Paul Crimp.

#### B DECLARATIONS AND ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON

B1. Declaration by Members

The elected Greytown Community Board members made public declarations and were sworn in by the Group Manager Planning & Environment.

B2. Election of Chairperson

Cr Margaret Craig nominated Christine Stevenson for the position of chairperson.

GCB RESOLVED (GCB2013/66) that Christine Stevenson be elected chairperson of the Greytown Community Board.

(Moved Cr Craig/Seconded Hay)

Carried

#### Christine Stevenson assumed the chair

B2. Election of Deputy Chairperson

Cr Margaret Craig nominated Shane Atkinson for the position of deputy chairperson.

GCB RESOLVED (GCB2013/67) that Shane Atkinson be elected deputy chairperson of the Greytown Community Board.

(Moved Cr Craig/Seconded Stevenson)

Carried

# C BUSINESS IN ACCORDANCE WITH PART 1 OF SCHEDULE 7 OF THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT 2002

C1. Legislation Affecting Elected Members – General Explanation

The Group Manager Planning & Environment provided an explanation of the legislation affecting elected members, including:

- Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987
- Local Authorities (Members' Interests) Act 1968
- Sections 99, 105 and 105A of the Crimes Act 1961
- Secret Commissions Act 1910
- Securities Act 1978

GCB RESOLVED (GCB2013/68) to receive the information.

(Moved Stevenson/Seconded Cr Craig)

Carried

## C2. Schedule of Ordinary Meetings

GCB RESOLVED (GCB2013/69):

- 1. To receive this information.
- 2. To adopt the revised 2013 schedule of meetings.
- 3. To adopt the 2014 schedule of ordinary meetings for Council, community boards and committees.
- 4. To set the regular meeting time of the Community Board for 7:00pm. (Moved Stevenson/Seconded Atkinson) Carried

# D MATTERS FOR DECISION

D1. Model Standing Orders for Meetings of Local Authorities and Community Board

GCB RESOLVED (GCB2013/70):

1. To receive this information. (Moved Stevenson/Seconded Hay)

Carried

- 2. To adopt Appendix H Provision for Casting Vote.
- 3. That no change be made to Council's standing orders for meetings.

  (Moved Stevenson/Seconded Atkinson) Carried

#### D2. Code of Conduct for Elected Members

Members noted that paragraph 2.3 required updating to allow for the provision of a casting vote (as adopted above), and paragraph 2.6 required updating to reflect new mayoral powers under the LG Act.

GCB RESOLVED (GCB 2013/71):

- 1. To receive the information.
- 2. To adopt the Code of Conduct for Elected Members for the 2013-2016 triennium with amendments as noted.

(Moved Cr Craig/Seconded Stevenson)

<u>Carried</u>

D3. Elected and Non-Elected Members' Remuneration GCB RESOLVED (GCB 2013/72) to receive the Officer's Report. (Moved Stevenson/Seconded Hay) Carried

D4. Establishment of and Appointments to Committees

> Members discussed the creation, purpose and potential membership of the Tree Advisory Committee and the possibility of creating committees for the Information Centre and Civil Defence.

Nominees were called for and received with the following appointments made. GCB RESOLVED (GCB2013/73):

- 1. To receive this information.
- 2. That the Tree Advisory Committee not be formally reconstituted but that Christine Stevenson will act as liaison with the Committee.
- 3. That Leigh Hay be the Greytown Community Boards nominee for appointment selection to the Wairarapa Library Service joint Council committee.
- 4. That Shane Atkinson be appointed to the Waiohine Floodplain Management Advisory Committee.
- 5. To not constitute an Information Centre Committee, but appoint Leigh Hay as responsible for operations and reporting, with assistance from Christine Stevenson.
- 6. To recommend to Council to appoint Rob Tuckett to the Arbor House Trust Board. The term of the appointment is recommended to be concurrent with the local government triennium of 2013-2016. (Moved Stevenson/Seconded Atkinson) Carried
- D4. Determination of honorarium payment for student representative co-opted to **Greytown Community Board**

GCB RESOLVED (GCB2013/74) that an honorarium payment of \$50 per meeting attended would be made to the student representative co-opted to the Board.

(Moved Stevenson/Seconded Atkinson)

Confirmed as a true and correct record

Carried

Commence as a true and correct record	
	Chairperson
	Date