

GRANTS SUBCOMMITTEE Minutes from 27 August 2020

Present: Mayor Alex Beijen, Councillors Leigh Hay, Pam Colenso, Garrick Emms (until

4:33pm), Brian Jephson, Brenda West and Rebecca Fox.

In Attendance: Katrina Neems (Chief Financial Officer), Charly Clarke (Finance Manager) and

Suzanne Clark (Committee Advisor).

Conduct of Business:

The meeting was held in the Martinborough Town Hall, Waihinga Centre, Texas Street, Martinborough and was conducted in public between 10:40am and

5:45pm except where expressly noted.

Open Section

1. Apologies

There were no apologies.

2. Conflicts of Interest

Cr Emms declared a conflict of interest with the application from the Wairarapa Racing Club.

Cr West declared a conflict of interest with the Wairarapa Safer Community Trust and Featherston Rugby Football Club.

Cr Colenso declared a conflict of interest with the Featherston Community Patrol.

3 Applicants Speaking

The Subcommittee heard submissions from applicants as follows. Members took the opportunity to ask questions of clarification from applicants.

- Jackie Gray for Greytown Community Sports and Leisure Society
- Veronica Marwitz and Alex Aiken, Rainbow Wairarapa via Zoom
- Peter Jackson, Featherston Memorial Returned and Services Association
- Rachael Dell and Emily Court, Pūkaha Mount Bruce
- Stuart Miller, Kids Need Dadz Charitable Trust Wellington Inc. via Zoom
- Adrienne Staples, Featherston Heritage Complex Society Inc.
- Donna Robinson, Volunteering Wairarapa
- Tere Lenihan and Sam Williams, Wairarapa Safer Community Trust

DISCLAIMER

- Paul Mason and Rupert Watson, Featherston Community Centre Charitable Trust
- Chris Cassels and Max Stevens, Martinborough Colonial Museum
- Jenny Gasson and Chris Tracey, Wings over Wairarapa
- Jorge Sandoval, Sandoval Promotions Ltd.
- Amanda Taylor, House of Science Wairarapa Application
- Alan Maxwell, Wairarapa Whanau Trust
- Joy Cooper and Helen Meehan, Wharekaka Trust Board

The meeting adjourned for lunch at 12:10pm.

The meeting reconvened at 12:40pm.

- Matthew Sherry, Wairarapa Racing Club
- Becky Bateman and Barb Roydhouse, Aratoi Museum of Art and History
- Tracey Shepherd and Maria McKenzie, REAP Wairarapa (YETE)
- Maria McKenzie, Connecting Communities Wairarapa South Wairarapa Neighbourhood Support
- Maria McKenzie, Connecting Communities Wairarapa Social and Community Development Services
- Shirley Milligan and Tam Williams, Alzheimer's Disease and Related Dementia Society Inc.
- Narida Hooper, Pae Tū Mōkai o Tauira
- Carmel Russell, Wairarapa Arts Festival Trust
- Gareth Thomas and Catherine Rossiter-Stead, The WAI Running Festival
- Nim Grewal, Featherston Junior Football Club via Zoom
- Michael Wilson, Access Radio
- Marc van de Loo, Featherston Rugby Football Club
- Christine Webley and Charlotte Harding, Martinborough Youth Trust
- Mary Biggs, Featherston Booktown

The meeting adjourned at 1:57pm.

The meeting reconvened at 2:14pm.

4 Deliberations

Mrs Neems advised members that the Subcommittee had the necessary delegation to award grants and that applications needed to be assessed against criteria and eligibility as per the Grants Policy.

Members made tentative allocations to youth grant applicants.

Members made tentative allocations to community grant applicants.

DISCLAIMER

Members with conflicts of interest stood aside from debate on applications where an interest was declared.
Cr Fox left the meeting at 3:22pm.
Cr Fox left the meeting at 3:23pm.
GRANTS SUBCOMMITTEE RESOLVED (GS2020/01) that the Grants Subcommittee meeting on 27 August 2020 continue beyond the six-hour time limit on meetings prescribed by South Wairarapa District Council's Standing Orders.
(Moved Cr Jephson/Seconded Cr West) <u>Carried</u>
Cr Jephson left the meeting at 4:02pm. Cr Jephson returned to the meeting at 4:03pm.
The meeting adjourned at 4:13pm.
The meeting reconvened at 4:23pm.
The meeting adjourned at 5:45pm with the intention of reconvening on the 28 August 2020 at 9:30am.
Confirmed as a true and correct record
(Chair)
(Date)