

Finance Committee Community and Youth Grants Considerations and Deliberations Minutes from 13 September 2023

Present: Councillor Martin Bosley (Chair), Mayor Martin Connelly, Councillor Aaron

Woodcock and Narida Hooper (Māori Standing Committee Representative) (from

11:16am).

Apologies: Councillors Colin Olds and Kaye McAulay

In Attendance: Amanda Bradley (General Manager, Policy and Governance), Nicki Ansell (Lead

Advisor Community Governance), Siv Fjaerestad (Community Development Co-

ordinator) and Amy Andersen (Committee Advisor).

Applicants: Amanda Taylor, Michael Wilson, Robbie Taylor, Jorge Sandoval, Mike Butterick,

John Gilberthorpe, Luke Tiller, Pat Dette, Lloyd Warren, Rebecca Vergunst, Sarah McClintock, Max Stevens and Pam Colenso, Rachel Fletcher, Nick Rogers, May Croft, Tahlia Steedman, Taizak Walker, Cheryl Watson, Mary Biggs, and Dougall

Shelton.

Conduct of This meeting was held in Supper Room, Waihinga Centre, Texas Street,

Business: Martinborough and via audio-visual conference. This meeting was live-streamed

and is available to view on our YouTube channel. The meeting was held in public under the above provisions from 10:33am to 3:43pm except where expressly

noted.

Open Section

A1. Mihi/Karakia Timatanga - Opening

Cr Bosley opened the meeting.

A2. Apologies

FINANCE COMMITTEE RESOLVED (FI2023/18) to accept apologies from Cr Olds and Cr McAulay; and Ms Hooper for lateness.

(Moved Cr Woodcock / Seconded Mayor Connelly)

Carried

A3. Conflicts of Interest

Mayor Connelly declared conflicts with Featherston RSA and Greytown MenzShed as he is a member of both. Cr Bosley declared a conflict with Country Village Heaven Trust due to his involvement in Festival of Christmas (note: this was declared in section C after the applicants had presented).

A4. Applicants speaking schedule

Cr Bosely clarified changes to the speaking schedule.

B Community and Youth Grants Considerations

The following applicants spoke to the Committee regarding their application:

- Amanda Taylor House of Science
- Michael Wilson Access Radio
- Robbie Taylor Featherston Memorial RSA
- Jorge Sandoval All Kiwi Sports Club Inc.
- Mike Butterick Wings Over Wairarapa
- John Gilberthorpe Greytown Little Theatre

Ms Hooper joined the meeting at 11:16am.

• Luke Tiller – Youthline

Meeting adjourned at 11:28am. Meeting reconvened at 12:29pm.

- Pat Dette and Lloyd Warren Martinborough Community Patrol
- Rebecca Vergunst Hokai Tahi Charitable Trust
- Sarah McClintock Aratoi Regional Trust
- Max Stevens and Pam Colenso Martinborough Museum
- Rachel Fletcher and Nick Rogers Country Village Heaven Trust
- May Croft Martinborough Waiwaste and Foodbox
- Wairarapa Whanau Trust Tahlia Steedman & Taizak Walker
- Wellington Free Ambulance Cheryl Watson
- Mary Biggs Booktown
- Dougall Shelton Greytown Scout Group

Meeting reconvened at 2:24pm.

C Deliberations

Members discussed the allocation of funds, with support from Ms Bradley, Ms Ansell and Ms Fjaerestad.

The applicants identified as being required to submit further information will be contacted by Council Officers and further information will be presented to the Committee at their next meeting for consideration on 25 October 2023.

FINANCE COMMITTEE RESOLVED (FI2023/19) to:

1. Receive the *Grant Funding Allocations 2023-24* Report. (Moved Cr Woodcock / Seconded Mayor Connelly)

Carried

2. Grant community and youth grant applicants (as agreed and attached) a combined total of \$74,494.00 to undertake projects as outlined in applications as submitted.

(Moved Mayor Connelly/Seconded Cr Woodcock)

Carried

D Karakia Whakamutunga – Closing

Ms Hooper closed the meeting.

The meeting was closed at 3:43pm.

Appendix 1: Community and Youth Grants 2023-2024

Confirmed as a true and correct record
(Chair)
(Date)
(Chief Executive)
(Date)