

Public Notice: South Wairarapa District Council Initial proposal for representation arrangement for 2025

On 31 July 2024, South Wairarapa District Council reviewed its representation arrangements and resolved that the following proposal apply for the Council for its elections to be held on 11 October 2025:

Council representation:

It is proposed that the Council will comprise of the Mayor, elected at large, and nine elected members, with seven members elected from four wards and two members elected at large (from the district as a whole).

The four wards reflect the following communities of interest:

Ward	Community of Interest
Greytown General Ward	The commercial and urban residential areas of Greytown, as well
	as surrounding rural communities.
Featherston General Ward	The commercial and urban residential areas of Featherston, as
	well as surrounding rural communities.
Martinborough General	The commercial and urban residential areas of Martinborough,
Ward	as well as surrounding rural and coastal communities.
South Wairarapa Māori	The area of the whole South Wairarapa District.
Ward	

The population that each General Ward member will represent is as follows:

Ward	Population (2018 Census)	Members	Population per member
Greytown General Ward	3,880	2	1,940
Featherston General Ward	3,320	2	1,660
Martinborough General Ward	3,780	2	1,890
Total General Wards	10,980	6	1,830
South Wairarapa Māori Ward	900	1	900
At large	11,880	2	
Total	11,880	9	

In accordance with section 19V(2), Local Electoral Act 2001 the population that each General Ward member represents falls within the range of 1,830 +/- 10% (1,647 to 2,013).

Community Board representation:

It is proposed that three community boards be elected in the communities of Greytown, Featherston and Martinborough.

Community Board	Area of Community
Greytown	The area of the Greytown General Ward

Community Board	
Featherston Community Board	The area of the Featherston General Ward
Martinborough Community Board	The area of the Martinborough General Ward

Each community board will elect four members. The community boards will not be subdivided for electoral purposes. They will each have two appointed members as follows:

Community Board	Members to be appointed
Greytown Community Board	Two members appointed from the Greytown General Ward
Featherston Community Board	Two members appointed from the Featherston General Ward
Martinborough Community Board	Two members appointed from the Martinborough General Ward

Further information:

From Monday 5 August 2024, copies of the Council's Statement of Proposal outlining the initial proposal for the 2025 local elections will be available from:

South Wairarapa District Council 19 Kitchener Street Martinborough

Further relevant information including Council's resolution and maps of the proposed areas can be found on the council's website www.swdc.govt.nz

Any queries regarding Council's decision or the consultation should be directed to Rob Thomas, <u>submissions@swdc.govt.nz</u>

Submissions:

Persons with an interest in the proposed representation arrangements are invited to provide written submissions on the initial proposal.

Submissions can be made by:

- completing the online submission form at www.swdc.govt.nz/representation-review/

- emailing a submission form to submissions@swdc.govt.nz

- posting a submission form to: South Wairarapa District Council, PO Box 6, Martinborough 5741 attn: Representation Review

- delivering a submission form to South Wairarapa District Council, 19 Kitchener Street,

Martinborough, or at any South Wairarapa District library.

Submissions must be received by 8 September 2024.

J-Snoll

Janice Smith Chief Executive South Wairarapa District Council 5 August 2024