Wairarapa Combined District Plan Joint Committee Terms of Reference

Function	To exercise the functions, duties and powers of the Carterton,
	Masterton and South Wairarapa District Councils under the First
	Schedule to the Resource Management Act 1991.
	Responsibilities include:
	The Committee will act as the governance advisory through the
	review period of the District Plan project and in preparing a new plan
	and act as the hearings panel for the submissions to the formal notification process.
	notification process.
	The scope of the review includes:
	 Giving effect to new or revised national policy
	statements and the revised Wellington Regional
	Policy Statement
	 Aligning the Plan with recent national environmental standards
	 Giving effect to the proposed national planning
	standards making any adjustments needed to the
	structure, definitions and zoning appellations
	Giving effect to the proposed national planning standards
	to make the plan align with requirements for electronic
	plans and address any consequential amendments
	required
	 Rezoning areas to accommodate growth pressures and/or modify existing zones and
	standards to enable growth and conversely, if
	needed, to tighten up protection of resources of
	important values
	 Aligning the Plan with recent council strategies
	 Revising objectives and policies in response to any issues
	arising from their implementation or to respond to any
	statutory amendments (for example, the two new section
	6 matters of national importance since 2009)
	 Revising any rules and supporting requirements in
	response to any implementation issues since 2009
Membership	Membership of the Joint Committee includes:
	• 2 members from each of the 3 councils appointed by each
	Council (with the ability for each council to appoint an
	alternate member to cover absences)
	2 Iwi representatives (1 member representing Rangitāne o
	Wairarapa and 1 member representing Kahungunu ki
	Wairarapa) appointed by the four iwi entities (Kahungunu
	ki Wairarapa, Kahungunu ki Wairarapa Tāmaki Nui ā Rua Trust, Bangitāno o Wairarana, and Bangitāno Tū Mai Bā
	Trust, Rangitāne o Wairarapa, and Rangitāne Tū Mai Rā Trust) and

	• an appropriately qualified Commissioner as an independent Chair appointed by the Joint Committee.
	The Joint Committee will appoint one of its members as the Deputy Chair.
	The Mayor of each Council is also a member of the joint committee as afforded by Section 41A of the Local Government Act 2002.
Quorum	The quorum of the Joint Committee will be five members and include at least one member of each territorial authority but does not include the Mayors (unless appointed as 1 of the 2 council appointed members or alternate member).
Frequency	The Joint Committee will determine the frequency of its meetings which are likely to change to suit the course of the review.
Delegated authority	The Carterton, Masterton and South Wairarapa District Councils have delegated to the Wairarapa Combined District Plan Joint Committee all its functions, powers and duties under the First Schedule to the Act, in accordance with Section 34 of the Resource Management Act 1991.
	The removal of the office of Chair and Deputy Chair is within the powers of the Joint Committee.