The Electoral System and Processes

South Wairarapa District Council resolved on the 27 August 2014 to retain the First Past the Post (FPP) system for the 2016 local authority elections.

Using this system, electors vote by indicating their preferred candidate (s) with a tick. Voters must not tick more than the number of places to be filled. The candidate that receives the most votes is declared the winner, regardless of the proportion of votes that candidate obtained.

As the resolution is used for the next two elections (minimum), the above process was retained for the 2019 local government elections.

The Opportunity to Change the Council’s Voting System

Under the Local Electoral Act 2001, there are three ways in which the Council’s voting system can be changed. The Council can resolve to change the system to be used for the next two elections (at a minimum), the Council can conduct a binding poll or electors can demand a binding poll (in which case, five per cent or more of the registered electors need to sign a petition demanding that a poll be held). Once changed, an electoral system must be used for at least the next two triennial (three yearly) Council elections.

An opportunity for change exists for the next local government elections, but the change must be completed by 12 September 2020 (resolution or poll).

Local Electoral Act 2001
Local Electoral Regulations 2001
Local Government Act 2002

Page Reader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out Loud Screen Reader Support