The Council comprises a Mayor and nine elected councillors from the three wards of the South Wairarapa district.

Committee structure

South Wairarapa District Council’s committee structure is reviewed after each triennial election. The structure for the 2019-22 triennium includes committees and subcommittees of the governing body, and joint groups (these may include members from other Wairarapa councils or the wider Wellington region).

To assist in the efficient running of business, the Council has established six committees and two subcommittees.  Council also has two joint committees with other councils.

Find details of each committee by viewing the profile on the individual pages below. The terms of reference for the committees and subcommittees set out the responsibilities that have been delegated by the Council.

Wellington Water Committee

Council is a joint owner of Wellington Water along with Greater Wellington Regional Council, and Lower Hutt, Porirua, Upper Hutt and Wellington city councils.

Wellington Water was formed in 2014 to provide dedicated management of council water infrastructure and operations.  SWDC retains ownership of all its infrastructure assets and contracts Wellington Water to provide infrastructure management services. SWDC sets all the policies and performance objectives that are expected to be met by Wellington Water.

Delegated powers

Some committees and subcommittees are delegated statutory powers necessary for them to fulfil their terms of reference. Refer to the terms of reference for committees for details of delegated powers.

Page Reader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out Loud Screen Reader Support