Māori Standing Committee

The purpose of the Māori Standing Committee is to advocate on behalf of and in the best interests of tāngata whenua in the District (including the descendants of hapū of Ngāti Kahungunu ki Wairarapa and Rangitāne o Wairarapa) and to ensure that the Council is fulfilling its obligations to them.

The Māori Standing Committee is comprised of two representatives from each of the three South Wairarapa Marae, two representatives from Pae Tū Mokai o Tauira, one representative from each of the two Wairarapa Iwi, three councillors, and the Mayor.

Māori Standing Committee membership

  • Narida Hooper (Chair) – Pae Tū Mokai o Tauira
  • Andrea Rutene (Deputy Chair) – Ngāti Kahungunu ki Wairarapa
  • Karen Mikaera – Pae Tū Mokai o Tauira
  • Violet Edwards – Kohunui Marae
  • Lee Flutey – Kohunui Marae
  • Gillies Baker – Pāpāwai Marae 
  • Herewini Ammunson – Pāpāwai Marae
  • Vacancy – Rangitāne o Wairarapa
  • Vacancy – Hau Ariki Marae
  • Vacancy – Hau Ariki Marae
  • Mayor Alex Beijen
  • Councillor Pip Maynard
  • Councillor Brian Jephson
  • Councillor Garrick Emms

Contact the Māori Standing Committee 

Correspondence may be directed to Chair Narida Hooper or the Committee Advisor (kaitlyn.carmichael@swdc.govt.nz).

Cell: 021 314 180
Email: mscchair@swdc.govt.nz

Terms of Reference

Terms of Reference for the Māori Standing Committee

Page Reader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out Loud Screen Reader Support