Councils Consider Government’s Three Waters Reform Programme

Masterton, Carterton and South Wairarapa District Councils are each working through the process of considering the Government’s Three Waters Reform Programme, first announced a year ago. Government is considering how best to regulate and deliver the country’s three water services – drinking water, wastewater and stormwater. The Government’s preference is to create four new regional water entities which would replace the 3 Waters work of 67 councils currently managing these services. The exact size, shape and design of these entities is still being worked on.

The Government expects that councils will consult the public later this year on the proposals and our councils are keen to have a full public discussion. South Wairarapa District Council has made no decisions yet and is also analysing new, more detailed information from the Government as it is provided.

We have until 1 October to get answers to all council’s questions so that when we undertake public consultation it will be more meaningful.

To stay informed please check out the following:

  • Summary information now available on our website here.
  • Full details on Government’s proposals available on the DIA website here.
  • Local Government New Zealand information here.
Page Reader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out Loud Screen Reader Support