Local Body Elections 2022

Local body elections are held every three years by postal vote, and the successful candidates make vital decisions about services, policies and decisions in your district.

South Wairarapa District Council provides a range of services including roading and water services, town planning and resource management, and regulations (building consents, dog control, liquor licensing, etc). It looks after parks and recreational facilities, libraries, cemeteries, has Civil Defence responsibilities, promotes economic development and much more. See the Pre-Election Report for more details.

In addition to a Council, this district has three wards which each have a community board in Featherston, Martinborough and Greytown. The Community Boards represent, and acts as an advocate for the interests of their community.

The local body elections for 2022 have been completed. See the Election Results for details on the successful candidates or the Councillors and Community Board pages. A by-election is required to fill an extraordinary vacancy on the Greytown Community Board.

Greytown Community Board By-Election

Voting for the Greytown Community Board by-election has now closed.

The Final Result for the Greytown Community Board 2023 by-election is now available.

Warwick Lampp Electoral Officer – South Wairarapa District Council
PO Box 3138, Christchurch 8140
0800 666 048

Candidate Information

Information Sheet

Candidate Guide

Page Reader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out Loud Screen Reader Support