Wairarapa Consolidated Bylaw 2019 adopted

11 July 2019

South Wairarapa District Council recently adopted the Wairarapa Consolidated Bylaw 2019 along with Carterton and Masterton district councils.

The bylaw, which came into force for all three districts on July 8, covers multiple topics that include activity that can and can’t be done in public spaces, prevention of nuisance from fire and smoke, the keeping of animals, and water supply.

Bylaws exist to promote a safe, friendly and peaceful environment for the community.

These rules made by councils guide the way we live, work and play in certain areas.

The Wairarapa Consolidated Bylaw has 12 Parts, with the majority of changes minor.

Part 12 Beauty Therapy, Tattooing and Skin Piercing has additional consultation occurring relating to eye ball tattooing and Tā Moko practices, which are not currently included in Part 12.

More information is to be released in future about this consultation.

Legislation requires councils to review a bylaw five years after it is made, and then every 10 years after that.

Anyone who doesn’t comply with a bylaw could face enforcement action such as being fined, having property seized or being requested to correct a breach.

The full list of changes in the Wairarapa Consolidated Bylaws is contained in the Statement of Proposal, adopted by South Wairarapa District Council at a full Council meeting on February 20.

The Council gave these changes the green light on June 26.

The full bylaws are available here.

Page Reader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out Loud Screen Reader Support