Greytown Community Board by-election

A by-election is required to fill an extraordinary vacancy on the Greytown Community Board.


Nominations for the position open on Thursday 24 November 2022 and must be made on the official nomination form. Copies of the nomination form and a byelection information sheet can be requested from the South Wairarapa District Council office, 19 Kitchener St, Martinborough, the Greytown Library, Main Street, Greytown, or from the electoral officer.

Completed nomination documents must be received by the electoral officer no later than noon on Thursday 22 December 2022. Each nomination must be accompanied by a deposit of $200 incl GST, payable by EFTPOS, cash or online banking (see nomination form for bank a/c details).

Candidates are encouraged to also submit a candidate profile statement and recent colour photograph. The requirements for the profile statement and photo are set out in the information sheet which is available with the nomination form. All nomination documents must be lodged together. Candidates should refer to the information sheet and candidate guide for further details.

Electoral rolls

A preliminary roll for the by-election can be inspected during normal office hours at the South Wairarapa District Council office, 19 Kitchener Street, Martinborough or the Greytown Library, Main Street, Greytown from Thursday 24 November 2022 to Thursday 22 December 2022.

Residential electors may enrol or amend their enrolment details on the electoral roll:

  • Online at
  • By texting your name and address to 3676 to get a form sent to you
  • By calling 0800 36 76 56 to ask for a form to be sent to you
  • By email request to

Applications for registration as a ratepayer elector are to be made on the non-resident ratepayer elector enrolment form available wherever copies of the electoral rolls are displayed and must be returned to the South Wairarapa District Council electoral officer before 4pm Thursday 22 December 2022. Online applications for ratepayer elector registration can also be made through the non-resident ratepayer portal:

Updates to the preliminary electoral roll close at 4pm on Thursday 22 December 2022.

Election Details

Voting will only be required if there is more than one nomination otherwise the candidate will be appointed unopposed. If a voting process is required to fill this vacancy, it will be conducted by postal voting using the First Past the Post (FPP) electoral system. Candidate names will be listed in random order on the voting papers. The voting papers will be mailed out to Greytown ward electors on Thursday 26 January 2023 and voting will close at midday on Friday 17 February 2023.

Warwick Lampp
Electoral Officer – South Wairarapa District Council
PO Box 3138, Christchurch 8140
0800 666 048

Page Reader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out Loud Screen Reader Support