Local Body Elections 2013

Local Body Election day is 12 October 2013.   For information on the issues facing the South Wairarapa District Council please read the Pre-election Report.

For 2013 election returns statistics please go to:

Candidate Information for the South Wairarapa District is now available here:


Adrienne Staples (elected unopposed)

Greytown Ward (Electing 3 Councillors)

Vivian Napier
Margaret Craig
Mike Gray
Richard Heald 
David Montgomerie

Featherston Ward (Electing 3 Councillors)

Dean Davies 
Solitaire June Robertson 
Helen (Darkie) Barrow (deceased)
Colin Olds 
Tim Watson

Martinborough Ward (Electing 3 Councillors)

Julie Riddell 
Brian Jephson 
Max Stevens 
Bob Petelin

Greytown Community Board (Electing 4 Board Members)

Christine Stevenson 
Leigh Hay 
Shane Atkinson 
Kay Gray 
Frank Minehan

Featherston Community Board (Electing 4 Board Members)

Rupert Watson 
Lee Carter 
Katie Beattie 
Garry Thomas 
Peter Jackson 
Helen (Darkie) Barrow (deceased) 
Perry Cameron

Martinborough Community Board (Electing 4 Board Members)

Victoria Read 
Pam Colenso 
Lisa Cornelissen 
Adi McMaster 
Bob Petelin 

Greytown District Trust Lands Trust (Electing 3 Trust Members)

Shane Atkinson 
Mike Gray 
Evan Morch 
David Montgomerie 
Wayne Regnault 
Alistair Plimmer 
Brian Phillips 
Trish Morison 
Margaret Cole

July-August 2013:

A list of nominations for the South Wairarapa District can be found here:



Nomination information:

Nominations opened on Friday 19 July 2013 and closed 16 August 2013 for the positions of:         

  • Election of one Mayor
  • Election of three members for each of the South Wairarapa Wards (Featherston, Greytown , Martinborough)
  • Election of four members for each of the of the three South Wairarapa Community Boards (Featherston, Greytown, Martinborough)
  • Election of three trustees for the Greytown District Trust Lands Trust

Nominations must be made on the appropriate nomination paper for each position.  These forms and the candidate handbook are available from this website, the Council offices at 19 Kitchener Street, Martinborough or by phoning the toll free number 0508 440 009 or the council office 06 3069611.  Completed nominations must be received by the Electoral Officer no later than 12 noon on Friday 16 August 2013.  The nominations must be lodged with the electoral official at the South Wairarapa District Council 19 Kitchener Street, Martinborough.  Each nomination must be accompanied by a deposit of $200 incl. GST , payable by eftpos , cash, cheque or online banking (see candidate handbook for requirements).


The rules for lodgement of nominations documents (nomination paper, candidate profile, photo, deposit) have now changed.  All documents must be lodged together.  Candidates should refer to the candidate hand book for further details.  


Page updated 5 September 2013 

Page Reader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out Loud Screen Reader Support