Local Body Elections 2022

Postal votes close noon, Saturday 8 October

Our election will be a postal vote beginning when voting papers go out on September 16 and ending at noon on October 8.

Election Returns

Daily election returns for the 2022 South Wairarapa District Elections are now available on the Electionz website.

Special Voting Arrangements

South Wairarapa District Council residents who are not listed on the final electoral roll for these
elections can enrol by calling 0800 36 76 56, visiting the Electoral Commission website: www.vote.nz,
by texting your name and address to 3676 to get a form sent to you or by email request to
enquiries@elections.govt.nz up to 4pm on Friday 7 October 2022.

South Wairarapa District Council ratepayers who are not listed on the final electoral roll for these
elections can obtain enrolment forms from the South Wairarapa District Council at 19 Kitchener St,
Martinborough up to 12noon on Saturday 8 October 2022. Online applications for ratepayer elector
registration can also be made online: www.electionz.com/ratepayer.

Special voting documents will be available from Friday 16 September to Friday 7 October 2022 at the
Council offices at 19 Kitchener St, Martinborough during normal opening hours and from 9am to 12
noon on Saturday 8 October 2022.



(Three candidates needed for each ward)

Greytown Community Board

(4 Board Members needed, by-election will be required)

Jo Woodcock

Louise Brown

Warren Woodgyer

Martinborough Community Board

Wellington Regional Council – Wairarapa

(1 position open)

Adrienne Staples

Candidate contacts can be found on the Electionz.com website

Read on for information on:
* What to know about local body elections
* Two types of votes
* How do I enrol?
* Information for candidates (including more nomination information)
* Key dates

What to know about local body elections

Local body elections are held every three years by postal vote, and the successful candidates will make vital decisions about services, policies and decisions in your district. This district uses a First Past the Post system.

South Wairarapa District Council provides a range of services including roading and water services, town planning and resource management, and regulations (building consents, dog control, liquor licensing, etc). It looks after parks and recreational facilities, libraries, cemeteries, has Civil Defence responsibilities, promotes economic development and much more.

In addition to a Council, this district has three wards which each have a community board: in Featherston, Martinborough and Greytown.

Voting is your democractic right. To vote in this year’s election, watch for your voting papers which will be sent to enrolled voters between 16 and 21 September 2022.

To make sure you receive your voting papers, check or update your postal address. If you were enrolled for the last Parliamentary elections, you should get an enrolment information pack in the mail. If you’re not on the roll, scroll down to “How do I enrol?’.

Voting closes at noon, 8 October – we urge people to post their votes early.

The results and successful candidates should be declared between 13 and 19 October.

Two Types of Votes

There are two types of voters. Residential Electors receive votes based on where they live.

Ratepayer Electors receive votes based on where they own property.

Please note, you only get to vote once in any given election. For instance, if you own the property you live in, you do not get another vote as a ratepayer because you will already receive a vote as a residential elector.

If you do not live in the district but own property here, you can vote by enrolling via this form.

Need to check if you are eligible to receive a ratepayer vote? You can access the ratepayer elector enrolment portal here.

How do I enrol?

You’re eligible to enrol and vote if:
* you are 18 years or older (or will turn 18 within the next 12 months)
* you are a New Zealand citizen or permanent resident
* and you’ve lived in New Zealand continuously for 12 months or more at some time in your life.

To enrol, you will need a driver’s licence, passport or RealMe verified identity.

Electors can enrol or amend their enrolment details on the residential electoral roll by contacting the Electoral Commission:
• Online at www.vote.nz
• By texting your name and address to 3676 to get a form sent to you
• By calling 0800 36 76 56 to ask for a form to be sent to you
• By email request to enquiries@elections.govt.nz

As mentioned, the preliminary electoral roll closed at 5pm on Friday 12 August 2022.

For out of district voters, the non-resident ratepayer elector enrolment form is available wherever copies of the electoral rolls are displayed, or online through the non-resident ratepayer portal.

If you missed the enrolment deadline on 12 August, you can still enrol – just go to Vote NZ and be enrolled by 7 October. You can then request a special vote from the electoral officer whose details are below or at Council’s offices at elections@swdc.govt.nz.

After 4 October, postal votes must dropped at Council’s Martinborough Offices or at Greytown or Featherston libraries to ensure they meet the close-off at midday, 8 October.

If you are registered on the unpublished roll (for those with security concerns), you will need to apply to the electoral officer to receive your voting papers.

Overseas voters can take part, but must ensure that they are correctly enrolled with an overseas postal address in order to receive their voting papers. Voting papers for local elections cannot be downloaded.

Electoral Officer contact details
Warwick Lampp
Electoral Officer – South Wairarapa District Council
South Wairarapa District Council, 19 Kitchener Street, Martinborough
0800 666 048

Information about candidates

Candidates must be a New Zealand citizen and enrolled for the general elections.

They do not need any formal qualifications. Elected members come from all walks of life and have a desire to serve their community.

More information can be found in our 2022 Candidate Handbook and and details about our district can be found in the Pre-election Report (links below)

A briefing for interested potential candidates in this year’s election was held in the Waihenga Centre on July 6 2022.

Please note, candidate names are listed in fully random order on the voting papers.

Please note, candidate names will be listed in fully random order on the voting papers.

Candidate information handbook
Video of briefing for potential candidates
Slides from briefing
Pre-election Report

Key dates 2022

  • 30 June: Enrolment update packs start being sent out to enrolled voters
  • 6 July, 7pm: Candidates’ briefing session at the Waihinga Centre, Martinborough
  • 15 July: Candidate nominations and roll open
  • 12 August, 12 noon: Candidate nominations. Roll closes 5pm.
  • 17 August: Candidates announced
  • 16-21 September: Voting documents delivered
  • 16 September – 8 October: Voting opens
  • 8 October – Voting closes 12 noon, preliminary results announced
  • 13-19 October – Final results
  • 26 October – First Council meeting of the new triennium
  • 5, 17, 21 and 28 November; 2 December (tentative dates): Elected Members inductions
  • 14 December (tentative date) – Council meeting

Page Reader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out Loud Screen Reader Support